Posted by: sarah | March 15, 2009

Hurrah! an update

So, as of yesterday, I now am the owner of:

  • Wuthering Heights (Bronte)
  • Dubliners (Joyce)
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (Joyce)
  • and Medicus: A Novel of the Roman Empire (by Ruth Downie)

I am exceedingly happy with these purchases; the two Joyce books being published by Penguin makes me very happy because of the editional information Penguin provides in their “classics,” and the Bronte is basically the same copy (just republished) of the one I read about five years ago.

The Downie novel is a new one for me, as I’ve never seen it before, and since it promises to be somewhat like the Falco novels I enjoy, it should be fairly decent.  It’s about a Roman medic, Gaius Petreius Ruso, who does a little detective work.  Doesn’t seem like it might be a barrel of chuckles like Falco, but promises to be a pretty good read.  If anyone’s interested in the author, or the novels, you can take a gander at her blog, http://rsdownie.co.uk.


Leave a comment

Categories