Posted by: sarah | February 12, 2009

Just to give a general idea…

So here’s something to give you a basic idea of the kind of things I read…

Novels I consider to be among my favourites:

  • the Warlord series, by Bernard Cornwell
  • the Marcus Didius Falco series, by Lindsey Davis
  • Humphry Clinker, by Tobias Smollett
  • Nineteen-Eighty-Four, by George Orwell
  • Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen (the staple of every romantic’s library)
  • Good Omens,  by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Books I hope to read before the end of 2009:

  • Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier
  • Tess of the d’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy
  • A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens
  • Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette, by Sena Jeter Naslund
  • Sense and Sensibility, by Jane Austen
  • Northanger Abbey, by Jane Austen
  • The Life and Opinions of Trsistram Shandy, Gentleman, by Laurence Sterne
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

…or at least that’s my list for now.  Hopefully I can squeeze Wuthering Heights in there too (I read it almost four years ago, and I think I’d like to reread it, mostly because I watched the latest Masterpiece Theatre last month).  I’ve also been reading up on James Joyce (having read some stories from his collection, The Dubliners), and if I’m able to get a hold on a copy of either Ulysses, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, or even Finnegans Wake (even though the ideas and style might be hard to grasp in Finnegans Wake), I would like to take some time to read any of them.

I have several other books at home that I’ve yet to read, so this list might be blown up by the end of the weekend.  Although considering the size of the list and other events (and books!) that might stop me from accomplishing this, I’m still going to give it the “old college try.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

